Recipe Friday – Balsamic Brussel Sprouts

Balsamic Brussel Sprouts

My mother always told me that I was a “good eater” as a child, but I know for a fact that Brussels sprouts were not my cup of tea until I was in my twenties.  The tiny cousin of cabbage, these little guys can be bitter if you don’t cook them in a way that pleases your palate, which in my past was usually steamed or boiled.  Until a few years ago, when I started getting CSA mystery boxes, I thought I would never eat a Brussels sprout again.  After a little research, I learned that roasting them (and just about any veggie you think you don’t like!) makes them caramelize and taste more like a savory snack than a cruciferous vegetable chock full of fiber, vitamins, and cancer-fighting antioxidants.

I’m so glad I gave them another shot; I’ve made these roasted Brussels sprouts several times and they are always a hit.  This dish might just make you a believer!

Balsamic Brussel Sprouts with Egg

Balsamic Brussels Sprouts
Makes about 4 servings

4 tablespoons olive oil
4 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
½ tablespoon brown sugar
1 pound Brussels sprouts, halved
¼ cup raw walnuts, chopped
4 eggs (optional)

Preheat oven to 375°F.  Whisk together olive oil, vinegar, mustard, garlic, brown sugar, salt and pepper.  Pour over Brussels sprouts in a large mixing bowl; stir to coat.  Spread mixture over a baking sheet or shallow baking dish coated with cooking spray.  Cook for 25-30 minutes (I like mine well done), turning sprouts halfway with a spatula.  Spread walnuts over mixture and cook for 5 additional minutes.  After adding the walnuts, cook eggs over easy or sunny side up. Serve one egg over each serving of Roasted Brussels Sprouts – the richness of the yolk really contrasts with the acid of the mustard and vinegar – but if you are just looking for the sprouts, these are delicious on their own.

Some helpful tips:

• Line the baking dish with aluminum foil to make clean-up easier: the balsamic vinegar will caramelize over time and, while delicious, this can make a mess of your bakeware!

• Cooking eggs over easy can be challenging if you don’t use enough cooking spray or utilize high heat – even in a nonstick pan!  Make sure the pan is low-medium/low and coated well before you crack the egg into the pan.

• Try roasting other veggies to see if you or a loved one would be more likely to eat them. A personal favorite of mine is cauliflower – you’ll think you’re eating popcorn!

So, that’s it for this week!  Have a delicious weekend!

Until next time, remember that… there are no excuses when it comes to your health!

2 thoughts on “Recipe Friday – Balsamic Brussel Sprouts

  1. I’ve been roasting Brussels Sprouts for years with soy sauce and olive oil. I love them, but your article has inspired me to change things up a bit and give your recipe a try.

    Thanks so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

